President of SYRIZA

Alexis Tsipras

Alexis Tsipras was born in Athens in 1974. He has a degree in Politics Engineer from the National Technical University of Athens, with postgraduate studies in Urban Planning and Spatial Planning. He has been Secretary of the Central Council of the Coalition Youth since 1999 until 2003. In 2006 he was elected municipal councilor in the Municipality of Athens, as head of the "Open City" combination. In 2008, at the 5th Congress of its Coalition Left, of Movements and Ecology, was elected President of the party and re-elected at the 6th Congress in June 2010. Elected President of the Coalition Radical Left (SYRIZA) from the party's founding congress in July 2013, and was re-elected at the 2nd Congress, in October 2016. From December 2012 to December 2015 he was its Vice President Party of the European Left (KEA), which led in its European elections 2013 as a candidate for the presidency of the European Commission. In the national elections of October 2009, he was elected a Member of Parliament for the first time. Athens and takes over as Chairman of the SYRIZA Parliamentary Group. By From July 2012 to December 2014 he served as Chief of Staff opposition. In the elections of January 25, 2015, he was elected Member of Parliament for Heraklion. On the 26th of January In 2015 he was sworn in as Prime Minister of the Hellenic Republic, an office which he took over from again on 21 September of the same year.